Books: Recommendations for Tiny Bookworms

Books are priceless treasure chests. My love for books began as an inspiration from my elder sister who was pursuing English Literature from Calcutta University. From early childhood, my parents started buying books for me, and ever since, books have been my constant companion. And then, marriage to an even greater book lover than me, made reading an essential part of my life. We started reading to our child since she was in the womb, and continued it as a bedtime ritual after her birth. Now, at four and half years, she has a collection of over three hundred books. She has also started reading on her own.

Interestingly, nowadays books are beautifully crafted for children to boost their imagination, vocabulary and intellect. There are touch and feel books, cloth books, light and sound books, musical books and something to amaze every child of every age.

Here’s a list of few most loved children’s books that I think should definitely be read by toddlers:

1. The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

2. Monkey Puzzle by Julia Donaldson

3. The Lion Inside by Jim Field and Rachel Bright

4. The Tiger who Came to Tea by Judith Kerr

5. The Cow who Fell to Earth Nadia Shireen

6. How to Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers

7. The Enormous Crocodile by Roald Dahl

8. Giraffes Can’t Dance by Giles Andreae and Guy Parker-Rees

9. The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

10. The Pop-up Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell

11. No by Tracey Corderoy

12. Zack’s Alligator by Shirley Mozelle

These books are easily available online and also in popular bookstores. Please let me know if you are reading to your toddler, and feel free to add more books loved by children to this list. 

Happy Reading!  😊

2 comments

  1. what an interesting choice. My youngest child is over thirty now but I remember reading most of those books with her too. One of our favourites was the light house keepers lunch but unfortunately I can’t remember who it’s by.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.